What are the punishments for unlawful possession of a weapon?
It is illegal to possess and carry a weapon with the intent to go armed in Tennessee. The circumstances of the offense and your criminal history will greatly influence the severity of the resulting punishments.
What if I have a Legal Permit to Carry a Weapon?
- Class C Misdemeanor - if the offense did not occur in public. Punishable with a maximum sentence up to 30 days in jail.
- Class A Misdemeanor - if the offense occurred in public, if you have been previously convicted of domestic violence, if you are subject to an Order of Protection, or if you are in possession while under the influence. Punishable with a maximum sentence up to 11 months and 29 days in jail.
- Class E Felony - if you have been previously convicted of a felony. Punishable with a sentence ranging from 1-6 years in jail.
- Class D Felony - if your prior felony conviction was drug-related. Punishable with a sentence ranging from 2-12 years in jail.
- Class C Felony - if your prior felony conviction involved the use of violence or a weapon. Punishable with a sentence ranging from 3-15 years.
Tennessee gun laws can be complex due to the number of exceptions to the law. The most common exception is whether you have a valid gun carry permit from the Tennessee Department of Safety. Other exceptions can include, possession at your home or business, and incident to hunting or fishing.What are the punishments for drug offenses?
Many factors are taken into consideration when charged with a drug offense such as the type of drug, the quantity of the drug, and whether there was intent to sell or distribute the drug. Contact a Memphis drug possession lawyer to understand what charges you are facing. What is simple possession or casual exchange?
It is an offense for a person to knowingly possess or casually exchange a controlled substance. For marijuana possession, it is an offense for a person to distribute a small amount of marijuana not more than one-half ounce. Small amounts of other controlled substances can also be viewed as simple possession. Offenses are an A misdemeanor punishable up to a $2,500 fine and/or up to 11 months and 29 days in jail. What is intent to manufacture, sale, delivery and/or felony possession?
It is an offense for a person to knowingly manufacture a controlled substance; deliver a controlled substance; sell a controlled substance; or possess a controlled substance with intent to manufacture, deliver, or sell such controlled substance. Felony possession offenses range of punishment can vastly vary from an E felony, punishable from 1-6 years, up to an A felony, punishable from 15-60 years, depending on the type or schedule of controlled substance, the amount of controlled substance, and other facts and circumstances of the offense.